Menu Planning

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January menus January 21, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — bhrastich @ 5:51 pm

Chili– I’m sure most of you have a favorite chili recipe already. I use the crockpot and simmer everything but the meat all day. I add the meat the last few hours of cooking on low since I think that it tastes funny if it’s been in the crockpot all day. I tweak this recipe a bit, I use stewed and diced tomatoes instead of the juice. That’s just how I like my chili!

Broccoli Soup– First time having this one and it was a bit broth-y for me. I’d like to bulk it up and add some white beans or a potato to thicken it next time. The flavor was great though! Served with sourdough and provolone grilled cheese and fruit.

Southwest Chicken Wraps– Helpful hint, whenever I make a chicken or buy a rotisserie chicken I put any leftovers in a freezer ziplock to accumulate for meals like this. Otherwise I forget to use the little portion left and let it go to waste. Grrrr. Served with cook carrots and guacamole.

Meatball Sandwiches- I cook premade meatballs in a thick spaghetti sauce (can use crockpot) and serve on hoagies and top with shredded mozzarella and toast in the oven to melt the cheese. Served with brussel sprouts and fries.

Breakfast casserole– Served with fruit smoothies and salad.

Baked Ziti– Makes a ton! Only bake half and freeze the other half! Served with Caesar salad and garlic bread.

Chicken Pot Pie– Again, I use my freezer portions of leftover chicken in this recipe! The only shortcut I take in this recipe is using a premade pie crust. Otherwise that’s a lot of dishes for clean-up. The kids used to gobble this one down, but are a bit more reluctant with all the mushrooms. I’ll try some other version next time, but feel like this is a classic.

Autumn Minestrone– This is a great winter, healthy, feel good soup! Served with fruit and hearty whole grain bread.

Spinach Artichoke Grilled Cheese– These taste like spinach artichoke dip! And they are so easy to make! Served with roasted carrots.

Black bean burgers– Served with fries and fruit.

Nachos– used left over frozen topping from last time, worked great!

Chicken Lettuce Wraps– Served with roasted broccoli.

Noodles Romanoff- Again, Kyle’s request. Served with green beans and applesauce. Recipe below:

½ lb egg noodles, wide

1 ½ lbs ground beef

2 8 oz cans tomato sauce

1 cup cottage cheese

1 8 oz pkg cream cheese

¼ cup sour cream

1/3 cup chopped green onion 

Cook noodles, drain and rinse in hot water. Saute beef in skillet until brown. Drain grease. Stir in tomato sauce and remove from heat. Combine cottage cheese, cream cheese, sour cream and green onion. Spread ½ of noodles in dish, cover with cheese mixture, then remaining noodles. Pour meat mixture over top and bake uncovered for 30 minutes at 375.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

