Menu Planning

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sweet Potato, Tomato and Chipotle Soup November 12, 2010

Filed under: Main Dish,Soup,Vegan — bhrastich @ 4:14 am
This was an interesting one. With some tweeking it could be more suitable for our family. From past experiences in using chipotles in recipes I knew that 2 would be too much and figured I would be safe with one. Well, one was still on the spicy side and there was no way the kids were going to be able to eat it. Granted, the pepper was on the larger side, so I would say a small chipotle could have made it family friendly or maybe a half with some of the adobo to give it the smokey flavor. Here’s a tip when using chiptles- I know a can is pretty cheap, but being the cheap-o that I am, I freeze all the extras. I would even recommend covering a baking sheet and laying each pepper on there to freeze individually and then throw them all in a ziplock. I also save the adobo sauce since some recipes I have call for it. And again, being a cheapie, I saved a huge amount of the little gerber baby food containers with lids and reused them when I made my own baby food. So I store all kinds of stuff like that in the freezer- like tomato paste which I never use a whole container of and any other freezer friendly sauces. And while I mentioned baby food. The consistancy of this soup was a little too much like baby food. My sweet potatoes were on the large side, so I think I would keep it to medium potatoes or just add more broth/water. It was very good served with some whole grain sourdough from Trader Joe’s! I thought it was a good recipe, just needing some tweeking for our family.

3 T olive oil

  • 1 large red onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 stalks celery, sliced
  • 3 carrots, sliced
  • 3 large sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped
  • 14 oz tomatoes, diced
  • 4 c vegetable stock or water
  • ½ c maple syrup (I used 1/4 c and it was plenty sweet)
  • 2 chipotle
  • 2 t salt
Sauté the onions and garlic in oil over medium heat for 3-5 minutes. Add celery and carrots and cook about 5 minutes, until softened.

Add sweet potatoes, tomatoes, and stock, bring to a boil, reduce heat, partially cover, and simmer until vegetables are soft, 30-40 minutes.

Add remaining ingredients, purée until completely smooth, and serve with a sprinkle of parsley.

 

Leave a Reply

