Menu Planning

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Homemade Chipotle/Qdoba Burritos July 27, 2010

Filed under: Chicken,Main Dish,Sides — bhrastich @ 8:17 pm

This is a 3 part recipe and all 3 are essential. I saved this recipe for Saturday since I do my long runs then and I typically have little energy to think about what I plan on making for dinner, let alone make it! These recipes took very little effort and by the taste of the burrito, one would think much more effort was put into it.

First up: Sweet and Spicy Chicken

Use how ever many chicken breasts you think you will need and adjust ingredients accordingly, I used 3 and it was enough for our dinner and leftovers

Place the chicken in the bottom of the crock pot. In a small bowl, combine 1 can diced tomatoes, drained, 1/3 cup brown sugar and red pepper flakes. Pour over the chicken. Cover the slow cooker and cook on high for 4-6 hours or on low for 8-9 hours. Remove the chicken to a cutting board and shred with two forks. Return to the slow cooker and mix the chicken with the juices from the tomato/brown sugar sauce. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Next time I think I will omit the red pepper flakes and subsitute a diced chipotle pepper for the spice.

Next up: Cilantro Lime Rice

1 cup long grain rice (I used Basmati and it worked beautifully)
2 cups plus 2 tablespoons water, divided
½ cup fresh cilantro
2 tbsp. freshly squeezed lime juice
1 tbsp. olive oil
1 clove garlic, chopped

 Directions:
Combine the rice and 2 cups water  in a medium saucepan set over medium-high heat.  Bring to a boil, stir briefly, cover and reduce the heat to low.  Let cook, covered, until the water is absorbed and rice is fluffy and tender, according to package directions

While the rice is cooking, combine the cilantro, lime juice, olive oil, garlic and 2 tablespoons water in a blender or food processor.  Blend until smooth.  Stir the mixture into the cooked rice and fluff with a fork.  

 And finally: Spicy Citrus Black Beans

2 cans black beans, rinsed and drained
2 tbsp. olive oil
1 yellow onion, chopped
pepper, chopped or minced (bell, Anaheim or jalapeno depending on your taste) (I think I used red bell pepper)
½-1 cup reduced-sodium chicken or vegetable broth (I used a full cup and think I would use closer to the 1/2c next time)
1½ tsp. dried oregano
2 bay leaves
½ tsp. salt
3 cloves garlic, minced or pressed
1 tsp. pureed chipotles in adobo
1½ tsp. ground cumin
¼ cup freshly squeezed orange juice
Juice of 2 limes (added lime zest – optional)
1 tbsp. white wine vinegar

 Heat the olive oil in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat.  Sauté the onion and pepper until tender, about 5-7 minutes.   Add the garlic and sauté just until fragrant, about 1 minute.  Stir in the beans.  Mix in broth (more or less depending on how much liquid you would like) and bring to a simmer.  Mix in the oregano, bay leaves, salt, chipotle puree, cumin, orange juice, lime juice and vinegar.  Once simmering, reduce to medium-low or low and let simmer, covered, 20-30 minutes, stirring occasionally.  

So to wrap it up…haha

Take a warm tortilla and layer the rice, then beans, then shredded chicken, a little sour cream if you desire or some shredded cheese. Wrap it up and enjoy. We had a good amount of left overs and they were gobbled up right away. I wonder if I could assemble these, wrap in seran wrap and freeze? Hmmmm. I can’t wait to make them again. Seriously so good. I really think it’s the rice that made them extra special. I love recreating restaurant favorites, maybe it’s because I can control the fat and calories that go into them, and keep my portion size in check, which makes it feel that much healthier, and probably cheaper!

I totally forgot to mention where I got these recipes. The Rice and Beans are from Annie’s of course and the chicken is from Sisters Cafe at http://sisterscafe.blogspot.com/

 

Leave a Reply

