Menu Planning

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Fish Tacos June 4, 2010

Filed under: Main Dish,Seafood — bhrastich @ 1:34 am

This is one of my favorite meals. I first had fish tacos when I visited my sister in San Diego and she introduced us to Rubio’s about 15 years ago. I don’t think I had another until a few years ago and since then, they are on our menu fairly often in the summer. The white sauce is the important secret for me.

I found this just by googling and don’t know what website it came off of, but it is called:

Rich’s Spiced Yogurt and Mayo White Sauce

1/2  Habanero Chile (sometimes I omit, or use a jalapeno)

1/4 c plain, unflavored yogurt

1/4 c mayo

1/2 t capers, diced

1/4 t Oregano

1/4 t Cumin

1/4 t dill

dash of cayanne chile

fresh lime juice

Dice chile and capers, add rest of ingredients. Taste and add ground pepper and lime juice to taste

I use 4 Tilapia filets and season with oregano, cumin, salt and pepper and bake in the oven.

I also like to top the tacos with a bean/salsa concoction I’ve made up.

1 can black beans, rinsed and drained

1 c or can of corn

1 avocado, chopped

1/3 c salsa (I use the a mild fruit salsa)

chopped cilantro

dash of lime juice

1/2 t zest of lime

Combine together.

To dish up, I use the small flour tortillas, add half a filet, white sauce, shredded lettuce and top with salsa. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

