Menu Planning

Just another WordPress.com weblog

More from Annie’s, a disappointment and some goodies May 5, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — bhrastich @ 2:01 am

I just had my first disappointment from Annie’s. It was the tortilla cassarole. She hadn’t failed me yet, so even though I was skeptical about adding the tortilla chips to the liquid and creating a soggy chip (eww, gross!), I forged on hoping Annie would disappoint, especially since one of my favorite ingredients (chipotles) were included. I think it was a good combo of ingredients, I think if I try it again I will just leave the last half of the tortilla chips out and place them on the plate and spoon the mixture on top. I was hoping for more crunch.

My sister-in-law, Carrie’s fiance is in the hospital after his vehicle hit an IED while serving in Iraq. He broke both of his legs and is undergoing several surgeries, so he will be in the hospital for several weeks, or longer. So I figured I would send a care package and it included soem goodies from Annie’s as well. We did the Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles which were really good. We had to try some of course and also took them to a pot luck we had and they got many comments about how yummy they were. We also included the Banana Crumb Muffins, which were good. I also made the PB and J Shortbread, good, but probably not something I’ll make again.

I plan on making a more “savory” package to send him in the next week or so. I’m going to make a granola bar recipe from Smitten Kitchen. I think I’m going to go the cherry, dark chocolate and almond approach. I can’t wait to see how they turn out. I also bought some extra ingredients to try other variations as well. My sister-in-law Sue-ann brought some spicey crackers home one holiday that are super easy and very addictive. I need to come up with another item to include, but haven’t come up with anything yet.

Since finding this Annie’s Eats website I’ve been trying a few new recipes a week. I also have been trying to clear out the freezer which included some beef from my dad and some extra pork that I got on sale. I typically don’t care for beef, other than a filet of course. So for the rump roast I had to do some searching and found an Italian Beef crock pot recipe that ended up being pretty good. I’ll have to post that one if I get around to it. And I realize I haven’t posted the non-Annie’s recipe yet. I’ll get around to it….some day.

 

Leave a Reply

