Menu Planning

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Just go to Annie’s Eats April 27, 2010

Filed under: Main Dish,Seafood,Sides — bhrastich @ 1:24 am
Tags:

Seriously, just go there, don’t bother coming here. It’s annies-eats.com. It’s amazing. She has great pictures too. Let’s see, I just did the Brazilian Shrimp Soup. Perfect for the weather we’ve been having. It calls for unsweetened coconut milk, not sure if mine was or not, the can just said “coconut milk”. After adding it I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it or not. Sometimes coconut is so unappealing to me. I carried on, and truth be told it was yet another winner. I also couldn’t find crushed tomatoes, so I just used sliced stewed ones and tried to mash them a bit. I am a fan of tomato chunks, so I enjoyed it. I had some leftover french bread and toasted it. It was so yummy dipped in the soup.  Zane had two bowls full.

I also made the Roasted Salmon with Cilantro Pesto a while back. It was fantastic again. Most of my salmon meals are very similar and consist of a soy sauce marinade, which gets boring after a while. I do have a few others that don’t have a soy sauce marinade, but nothing like this. I wasn’t sure what to serve with this and didn’t plan ahead too well, as is usually the case in regards to sides. I came up with a delightful creation! Boiled some orzo, my favorite pasta, added some frozen peas at the end, drained and added some freshly grated swiss cheese. Yum yum!

I’ll be back later this week with a recipe that isn’t from Annie’s Eats.

 

Leave a Reply

